Selective device data send on WebSocket to users

shahab9 months ago

Hello,
In Traccar when you create a device and assigned a device to a user and when that user login, websocket will send live data of only that device to users. I am a backend developer but doesn’t have expertises on java, but i tried to find how does it work., but unable to understand. If anyone can explain, it would be helpful
Thank you

Eduardo S9 months ago

As far as my understand, traccar web is just a interface that connects to traccar via API (websocket), requests info associated with the user account, and adapts it to display correctly on map.

So, if you add a device and enroll it to a specific user account, all users that log in with that specific user account should get new device info on next API request. When the interface receives device information, process it and displays it on devices menu, and map point. That's why it's not neccesary do F5 refresh to display new devices. Each interface receive new device list on new request.

After that, when you do something related with that device (like report request) web interface request the report to traccar server, traccar server verify that the user token have enough permissions to get information about that deviceid, anf if that's true, server answers to web interface with the positions related.

Each request made to traccar server, user token is sent to the server, so Traccar Server can verify what permissions have that user account, and deny or grant the request accordingly.

Greets.

shahab9 months ago

Thanks Eduardo for your response
"When the interface receives device information, process it and displays it on devices menu, and map point."
are you saying that traccar will send all vehicle data in websocket but the web app only shows the relevant?

Eduardo S9 months ago

No.