Database optimization - tips?

Michał Piasecki5 years ago

I have over 10 milion entries in tc_positions. Report generation takes a lot of time (over 30 seconds) and I think it's related to how many entries are in said table.
I realize that stock MySQL settings are unlikely to be good enough for Traccar, but I'm a total amateur when it comes to databases. Does anyone know what I could do to improve report generation times? I didn't want to mess with indexes, I don't want to strain my machine's RAM too much. I did read "Optimization" section in documentation, yet it doesn't give any specifics. Anyone got similar experience with such things?

Tony Shelver5 years ago

First rule of thumb in DB tuning is to tune the application and data access strategies.
One key to this is to have indexed on large tables that can be utilised by the queries being made to the DB.

I haven't looked in the relevant java code to see how Traccar queries locations, but it's very likely it's doing a full table scan on tc_positions.
There are no indexes on tc_positions on the default postgresql installation (other than the primary key), which I assume is the same as in MySQL. You could try putting an index on latitude and / or longitude columns to see if that helps.
In my custom reporting DB we use PostGIS indexed geography datatypes to store locations and shapes such as geofences, and there the response is very fast.

I've turned on slow query detections, this is what is used for generating reports (at least for Routes):

SET timestamp=1566278342;
SELECT * FROM tc_positions WHERE deviceId = 263 AND fixTime BETWEEN '2019-08-19 22:00:00.0' AND '2019-08-20 22:00:00.0' ORDER BY fixTime;

In basic MySQL installation, only deviceid is indexed - do you think anything else should be indexed? fixtime seems to be an obvious choice.

Adding an index to fixtime, using this query: