Suggested Horizontal Scaling - Device Strength

Gps man4 months ago

my db, web and ngnix are 3 different server.

db
mysql
32 GB RAM
4 TB Storage

web
ubuntu 22
32 GB RAM
200 GB Storage

nginx
ubuntu 22
16 GB RAM
100 GB storage

how many devices can i expect before i approach to horizontal scaling

Track-trace4 months ago

Why would you use nginx on a separate server when having only one traccar server? Nginx is very light weight.

Even though it might be a good idear when you would use nginx as load balancer for two traccar servers. Actually i would be interested to know your config for such a setup.

Logicly i am not an expert but would suggest tuning with https://www.traccar.org/optimization/
Also it would depend on what cpu you use, what storage (nvme ssd) and internet connection. I think it should be thousands devices that could be connected to your server. And it would also depend on the update frequency that you set for the devices. There are many factors, like for instance how much device history you will store.

Gps man4 months ago

Nginx is to control my websocket traffic.

Optimizations are already done as per the link.

We have 9 months of history data, Update frequency is 10-20 sec.

Can you guide when should i think to implement scaling

Anton Tananaev4 months ago

By web do you mean Traccar backend? You shouldn't put it separately from the database. That actually makes it less efficient because of the network latency.

Gps man4 months ago

By web I mean traccar web.

Not sure why you feel so that db on separate server will make it less efficient…. When we talk of horizontal scaling at that time also db is going to be in another server when there are more then 1 server…..

By web I mean traccar web.

Then where is your Traccar backend?

Not sure why you feel ...