Unknown gt06S H08E device

thiagoa year ago

Hi guys, I am new to this whole GPS thing. Got a scooter for my wife and set a traccar server on personal cloud.

I bought a misterious GPS tracker from eBay, which just has the IMEI and H08E written on the box. I have tried sending several different commands to it and I noticed it accepts the check123456 and adminip123456 <server ip> <server port> commands, but so far, nothing else.

The device always sends the exact reply for every message that I send. For SMS I noticed it ignored invalid messages or messages with the wrong password, using traccar's "send custom command" feature, I can see in the logs that the devices replies with the exact same string to any command, valid or not.

This is the constant reply template:

ID:[imei] ip:[server ip]:[server port] apn:[apn name] user:[apn user] pwd:[apn password]
stim:15 tim:60 gt06S csq:22 r:ok t:ok p:V H08ESGMANV_220919A

There are 2 interesting things in this reply, first the gt06S string, which was a good hint of the protocol the device used and I was able to make it work using the gt06's port 5023. The other is the H08E... string, which maybe means a product id with a 220919A firmware version/revision. But that is all I was able to gather about this device so far.

Neither of these strings return anything useful from a google search, so I know it's a long shot, but I was wondering if anyone else has any other advice on how I can get more information about this device and other commands it might accept. I am particularly interested in the engine stop/resume commands, it is connected using 4 wires: red=power, black=ground, orange=ACC/Ignition On, yellow=?. The traccar server is able to detect ignition based on the signal input on the orange wire, and I think yellow is supposed to control a relay or something, but it measures constant 0 volts regardless of what I do, so I have not been able to figure out how to trigger an immobilization of the vehicle through this.