Traccar Postgres to MySQL migration

Hello Anton,

First of all i take this chance to congratulate you on your success, you've done a tremendous job with Traccar, and it's a very big thing that you've made it Open-source.

Coming to the point, I've been using Traccar for over 6 months, during the installation i chose Postgres as the database. But now we're experiencing a significant lag to load historical data as our db reached over 60GB in size. I read in the forum that you recommend MySQL over any other database and it's 5x faster in speed, so I decided to migrate our current db to MySQL. I've managed to backup the data, and tried a couple of tools to convert it to MySQL, but unfortunately i didn't work. I didn't see any topic related to migration from postgres to mysql in this forum, may be i've missed, so thought to ask here. Is there any recommended method/tool that i can use to do this ? Any information will be appreciated.

Thanks again.

Anton Tananaev3 years ago

Postgres should work just fine. You need to analyze why performance degraded.

Thanks for your reply Anton.

I've found a software to convert and now the conversion is ongoing.

If the lag issue in my case is not DB then what else it could be in your opinion?

I'm running Traccar in a 8 core 16 GB VPS server. I've around 100 devices online sending data every 5 seconds if moving. I had to set the message interval to 5 seconds because we wanted to have an option to see the number of Tolls for each car. Also the distance is around 150meters. Do you think that could be the problem?

Thanks in advance, and please pardon me for the novice question.

You have to check execution plans for SQL queries to see why they are slow.

select * from tc_positions where fixtime > now()-interval '30 days' took 52 s 12 ms to execute.
I'll do a full execution plan and update here, i hope i can fix it.
And this below is the explain result.

Seq Scan on public.tc_positions  (cost=0.00..8419701.24 rows=15265164 width=516)