New to the GPS thing and Traccar, just a couple of quetions

startover9096 years ago

Got a client who wants me to help him host his Traccar server. I'm an experienced Linux admin and the server setup part was not an issue, but I've never dealt with the GPS tracker stuff before. Hopefully someone can give me some tips:

1. The client will be ordering the Xirgo XT-2150 series trackers. I see that it is listed as an officially supported model, with "Xirgo" protocol, using port 5081. Does this mean as long as this tracker manages to communicate with the Traccar server over the port 5081, which I'll make sure to open through the firewall, and the device's ID (IMEI) is added to the Traccar database, Traccar should simply understand this device, interpret all reported data, and list them accordingly under the device's attributes? Are there any special configurations that need to be done on Traccar server's side?

2. The manufacturer of the device, Xirgo, provided a "scripting guide" document with all sorts of commands and syntaxes to configure the tracker. My understanding is that of all those parameters, the only ones that are directly relevant to me as the Traccar server admin, is the "backend server" configuration part where I provide the server's IP address/domain name. The manufacturer will then enter them into the tracker's firmware before shipping them out. Once that is done, as long as the GPS device goes online via its SIM card and has internet access, it will start reporting to the Traccar server as described above in #1?